Stuffed Jalapenos

One of my favorite things to do is to cook and bake. Since I live on campus and my dorm room has its own kitchen I have the luxury to make my own meals and experiment with recipes. I plan on posting some recipes every month and if you try them out let me know how it went and if you liked it. Also, if you have recipes of your own please feel free to share. I’d love to try them out.

To begin this is a recipe that I learned from a friend and since I’ve been craving them I decided to make some. This is an easy recipe (only 3 ingredients!) and doesn’t take too much time to prepare and bake. By the way the end product doesn’t come out spicy which is a great thing since I’m not a big fan of spicy things.

INGREDIENTS:

Jalapeños (as many as you would like)

Cream Cheese (plain fat-free or plain original)

Bacon (any kind you like but I prefer turkey)

DIRECTIONS:

STEP 1: Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Wash all jalapeños. Cut all jalapeños in half and cut the ends off (where the stem is growing). Then take all seeds out and throw the seeds away. WARNING: remember to not touch your face or any part of your body. Your fingers have chili on them and it will burn.

STEP 2: Fill each jalapeño with cream cheese but don’t overfill. This can get a little messy but take your time.

STEP 3: Take the bacon out of the bag. Count how many jalapeños you have so that you can take out the right amount of bacon slices (example: if you started with 10 whole jalapeños take out 10 whole slices of bacon). Then cut the bacon slices in half.

STEP 4: Wrap each slice of bacon around each jalapeño and place them in a baking pan. Place all jalapeños next to each other. You can also pre-grease the baking pan so they don’t stick.

STEP 5: You can now place the baking pan in the oven (bottom rack) for about 15-20 minutes or until the bacon looks cooked and crispy. All ovens are different so time may vary.

STEP 6: After 15-20 minutes you can take the jalapeños out of the oven and let them cool down for a bit. Take the jalapeños out of the baking pan and on to a plate for display and share with friends and family.

I hope that all of you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. It’s one of my favorites and it’s so easy to make.

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.” -Julia Child

Leave a Reply

