Happy International Women’s Day!

International Women’s Day is commemorated ever year on March 8 by women groups from around the world. This day was intended to unite women from around the world to reflect on past struggles for equality, peace, development and most importantly justice. Women regardless of nationality, race, ethnicity, culture, language, economic and political backgrounds call all celebrate the break throughs and accomplishments that have been made on behalf of women.

http://www.internationalwomensday.com/

I want to take this opportunity and mention some of the women that I look up to and admire. These women are very talented, gifted and have given so much of themselves for the good of others. They are role models for our younger generations of young girls.

First and foremost is my mom. She is very important to me and has done so much for our family. My mom has sacrificed many things in order to focus her time on my brother, sister and I. Ever since I was young she has made education the most important goal in my life and has even gone out of her way to teach me how to read, write and speak Spanish since I was born. I don’t know where I would be without my mom but I’m so thankful to have her in my life and to have her support. To the right is a picture of my mom wearing my sisters cap and gown at the University of Texas at Austin.

 

My sister is also another inspiration in my life. She was born in Mexico and raised in the United States and since then has achieved many things. Throughout her life she has worked hard and has set herself apart from others. She graduate second in her high school graduating class and received a bachelors and master from the University of Texas at Austin. I couldn’t have asked for a better sister and she is amazing! The picture to the right was taken after graduating from college.

 

 

Last but not least is Hillary Clinton. Throughout her political career she has not stopped working for the people and helping the people. Despite constantly being criticized by the media she has been able to remain strong and keep her head up. Hillary Clinton is someone I look up to because she truly is a leader and someone who puts herself last. She is revolutionary in the sense that she is doing things no one ever saw a woman doing and she does them with pride. I had the pleasure of meeting her in person when I was at a LULAC convention in Washington DC and I hope that wont be the last time I ever have the pleasure of being in her presence.

Leave a Reply

