Quick and Easy: Sweet and Sour Chicken

If you ask me what my favorite Chinese dish is it would have to be the sweet and sour chicken. Lately I have been eating a lot of sweet and sour chicken and thought to myself “hey! why don’t I learn to make some?” I finally had some time last night to experiment with this new idea and with ingredients I had bought.

The sweet and sour chicken I made last night is a alternative version of the original. I like the call it “the college version” of the sweet and sour chicken just because I was on a budget and needed to make this dish fast. Hope you all enjoy it and let me know if you like it as well. It’s a delicious, yet simple and healthy alternative that not only looks good but taste good.

INGREDIENTS:

Instant White Rice

Chicken Breast

Sweet and Sour Sauce

Bell Peppers (any color you like)

Pineapples (cut into small squares)

Snow Peas (please use! i didn’t have any last night but wished I did)

DIRECTIONS:

Step 1: Wash the bell peppers, and snow peas.

Step 2: Cut you bell peppers (1 or 2) and pineapple slices into small squares (not too big and not too small). Add the bell peppers, snow peas, and pineapples into a pot and put on medium heat. Stir occationally.

Step 3: Cut the 2 chicken breast into small squares. Add to a pot with 1/3 sweet and sour sauce and 1/4 water. Turn to medium heat and stir occasionally. Cover pot with a lid for mo more than 10 minutes,

Step 4: After chicken is fully cooked (it turns white or lightly pinkish because of the sauce) place the chicken into the other pot with the bell peppers, pineapples and snow peas. DO NOT add the sauce from the chicken into the other pot.

Step 5: Add however much sweet and sour sauce you want (I ended up using the whole bottle). Still occasionally for about 5-10 minutes on medium heat.

Step 6: On another pot boil water and then add instant rice (make however much you want according to what the box says). I make 1 cup of rice with 1 cup of water.

Step 7: Serve rice next to sweet and sour chicken mix and eat!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“…nothing is too much trouble if it turns out the way it should.” – Julia Child

Leave a Reply

